Timezone: »

Discussion Panel
Krzysztof Dembczynski · Prateek Jain · Alina Beygelzimer · Inderjit Dhillon · Anna Choromanska · Maryam Majzoubi · Yashoteja Prabhu · John Langford

Fri Jul 17 02:50 PM -- 04:00 PM (PDT) @

Author Information

Krzysztof Dembczynski (Poznan University of Technology)

Krzysztof Dembczyński is an assistant professor at Poznań University of Technology. He received his B.Sc., M.Sc., and Ph.D. degrees in computer science from the same university. As a post-doctoral researcher he spent two years from 2009 to 2011 in the Knowledge Engineering & Bioinformatics Lab at Marburg University, Germany. His articles have been published at the main conferences (ECML,ICML, NIPS) and in the leading journals (JMLR, MLJ, DAMI) in the field of machine learning. As a co-author he won the best paper award at the European Conference on Artificial Intelligence 2012 and at the Asian Conference on Machine Learning 2015. He also gave a tutorial on multi-target prediction problems at the International Conference on Machine Learning 2013 and at Algorithmic Learning Theory/Discovery Science 2013. He serves as a member of the program committees of major conferences in the field of artificial intelligence (ICML, NIPS, IJCAI, AAAI, KDD) and as a reviewer for several international journals (MLJ, DAMI, JMLR). He is a laureate of a prestigious scholarship in the HOMING PLUS programme awarded by the Foundation for Polish Science (2012– 2014). He was also receiving a stipend for outstanding young scientists funded by the Polish Ministry of Science and Higher Education (2011–2013).

Prateek Jain (Microsoft Research)
Alina Beygelzimer (Yahoo Research)
Inderjit Dhillon (UT Austin & Amazon)

Inderjit Dhillon is the Gottesman Family Centennial Professor of Computer Science and Mathematics at UT Austin, where he is also the Director of the ICES Center for Big Data Analytics. His main research interests are in big data, machine learning, network analysis, linear algebra and optimization. He received his B.Tech. degree from IIT Bombay, and Ph.D. from UC Berkeley. Inderjit has received several awards, including the ICES Distinguished Research Award, the SIAM Outstanding Paper Prize, the Moncrief Grand Challenge Award, the SIAM Linear Algebra Prize, the University Research Excellence Award, and the NSF Career Award. He has published over 160 journal and conference papers, and has served on the Editorial Board of the Journal of Machine Learning Research, the IEEE Transactions of Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence, Foundations and Trends in Machine Learning and the SIAM Journal for Matrix Analysis and Applications. Inderjit is an ACM Fellow, an IEEE Fellow, a SIAM Fellow and an AAAS Fellow.

Anna Choromanska (NYU Tandon School of Engineering)
Maryam Majzoubi (New York University)
Yashoteja Prabhu (Microsoft Research India)
John Langford (Microsoft Research)

More from the Same Authors