Timezone: »

Data Poisoning Attacks in Multi-Party Learning
Saeed Mahloujifar · Mohammad Mahmoody · Ameer Mohammed

Wed Jun 12 06:30 PM -- 09:00 PM (PDT) @ Pacific Ballroom #160
In this work, we demonstrate universal multi-party poisoning attacks that adapt and apply to any multi-party learning process with arbitrary interaction pattern between the parties. More generally, we introduce and study $(k,p)$-poisoning attacks in which an adversary controls $k\in[m]$ of the parties, and for each corrupted party $P_i$, the adversary submits some poisoned data $T'_i$ on behalf of $P_i$ that is still "$(1-p)$-close" to the correct data $T_i$ (e.g., $1-p$ fraction of $T'_i$ is still honestly generated).We prove that for any "bad" property $B$ of the final trained hypothesis $h$ (e.g., $h$ failing on a particular test example or having "large" risk) that has an arbitrarily small constant probability of happening without the attack, there always is a $(k,p)$-poisoning attack that increases the probability of $B$ from $\mu$ to by $\mu^{1-p \cdot k/m} = \mu + \Omega(p \cdot k/m)$. Our attack only uses clean labels, and it is online, as it only knows the the data shared so far.

Author Information

Saeed Mahloujifar (University of Virginia)
Mohammad Mahmoody (University of Virginia)
Ameer Mohammed (Kuwait University)

Related Events (a corresponding poster, oral, or spotlight)

More from the Same Authors

  • 2019 : Spotlight »
    Tyler Scott · Kiran Koshy · Jonathan Aigrain · Rene Bidart · Priyadarshini Panda · Dian Ang Yap · Yaniv Yacoby · Raphael Gontijo Lopes · Alberto Marchisio · Erik Englesson · Wanqian Yang · Moritz Graule · Yi Sun · Daniel Kang · Mike Dusenberry · Min Du · Hartmut Maennel · Kunal Menda · Vineet Edupuganti · Luke Metz · David Stutz · Vignesh Srinivasan · Timo Sämann · Vineeth N Balasubramanian · Sina Mohseni · Rob Cornish · Judith Butepage · Zhangyang Wang · Bai Li · Bo Han · Honglin Li · Maksym Andriushchenko · Lukas Ruff · Meet P. Vadera · Yaniv Ovadia · Sunil Thulasidasan · Disi Ji · Gang Niu · Saeed Mahloujifar · Aviral Kumar · SANGHYUK CHUN · Dong Yin · Joyce Xu Xu · Hugo Gomes · Raanan Rohekar